All of us have different ways we feel loved.

If I were to use Gary Chapman’s theory of “The Five Love Languages”*, I’d say that:

  • a gift,
  • or a specific time spent with us,
  • or a hug,
  • or when someone did something for us,
  • or when someone said certain words to us

one- or more – of these actions – made us feel loved.

To feel loved in life is precious.

We can be profoundly grateful for the experience of feeling loved.

What times in your life – what happened – to make you feel loved?

Play the experience out in your mind… imagine it happening again.

If you can think of more than one experience of feeling loved, were there correlations?

Let’s list all the times you felt loved.

Too often we play back the negatives over and over… let’s use our time to consider the positives. Feeling loved is one…

“Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–think about such things.”

Philippians 4:8

This post is part of the 30 Days of Thankfulness. Have you read any of the other posts?

Have you subscribed to At the end of October 2020 you’ll have the opportunity to download the entire 30 days of Thankfulness ebook. And one person will…

* Gary Chapman is a marriage and family therapist who is the founder/originator of the concept of the five love languages. It’s the idea that we all speak one of five different “Love Languages” and if you’re not feeling loved by those closest to you – or they aren’t feeling loved, there’s a good chance you aren’t speaking to them in the way they translate into love. Sound simplistic? It is. However, it’s often the most simple ideas that have the most bang. (Rob and I recommend this theory to every couple, parent, and person – it’s made a huge difference in many people’s lives… ) Go HERE to learn more!